The Australian Organisational Excellence Awards

2017 Awards Event


The 2017 Australian Organisational Excellence Awards presentation dinner took place on Friday 20 October 2017 at The Government House Ballroom, St Georges Terrace, Perth.

We would like to warmly congratulate the Award winners on the night as follows:
  • ​Brian Thomas Memorial Award – Colin Gare
  • Bronze Award – City of Joondalup
  • Gold Award – International Education Services
  • ​Excellence Prize – City of Melville
​This year’s Awards also featured a welcoming address by Her Excellency the Honourable Kerry Sanderson AC Governor of Western Australian and the keynote presentation by Senator the Honourable Mathias Cormann, Senator for Western Australia, Minister for Finance and Deputy Leader of the Government in the Senate.

About the Awards

The Australian Organisational Excellence Awards (the Awards) are managed by the Foundation and recognise the achievements of outstanding Australian organisations that are effectively utilising business excellence principles, thereby demonstrating a commitment to sustainable performance, stakeholder value, quality and service, philanthropic ideals, ethical behaviour and environmental sustainability.

The Awards are bestowed to recognise organisations for demonstrated organisational excellence. The Awards support the most rigorous evaluation process in Australia. The combination of the expertise of the Evaluators, the panel of review, the evaluation process and our leading-edge criteria make this a unique process.

Recipients are expected to share information about their successful excellence strategies with other organisations. This sharing takes the form of participation in customer forums and the documentation of case studies.

Further information about applying for an Award can be found here.

Rigorous Evaluation

All Award applicants are evaluated by a panel of independent volunteers drawn from successful organisations. The evaluator recommondations are then vetted by a prestigious panel of review composed of organisational leaders and recognised technical specialists in the field of Excellence.

The evaluation is rigorous and meticulous, and is conducted against the criteria and guidelines of the Australian Business Excellence Framework. All applicants receive a detailed and insightful report on their performance as well as an Award.

A Rich History

The Awards represent a rich history of Quality Excellence Awards in Australia dating back to the introduction of the Australian Quality Awards in 1988. Over 450 organisations have benefited from being assessed against internationally recognised criteria and by being recognised at the various Award levels.

Previous winners of the Awards were of all shapes and sizes and from a wide range of industries. Receiving recognition is a bonus, but the greatest value of entering the Awards is the comprehensive feedback report prepared by the volunteer excellence professionals who serve as Evaluators. Hundreds of applicant organisations have benefited from having strengths and opportunities for improvement identified against each Item in the ABEF.

Recent Award Winners

The Foundation would like to congratulate the following recent Award winners:

Levels of recognition are based on the recommendation of the Evaluation team and the decision of the Panel of Review. At the Award Level there may be more than one recipient as evaluation is criterion-referenced.

The score is only one of the elements in this final decision (i.e. achieving a score level does not confirm an award level). Other considerations include the extent of the applicant’s adherence to the nine Principles of Business Excellence, financial sustainability of the organisation and whether improvement is uniform across all seven Categories.

A full list of Award winners can be accessed here.

Create a website or blog at

Up ↑